St. Ansgar, Iowa May 10, 2021

The St. Ansgar Community School District is an Equal Employment Opportunity and Affirmative Action Educational Agency.

The Board of Directors of the St. Ansgar Community School District met in regular session in the High School Media Center at 5:30 P.M.

Present: Directors Steve Groth, Will Morrow, Kyle Tabbert, Lindsey Falk, and Lowanna Hannam. Superintendent Mike Crozier. Secretary Emily Johnson-Woods. Principal Lynn Baldus. Principal Scott Cakerice. There was 1 guest present.

Absent: Director Brumm and Director Bork.

The meeting was called to order by President Groth. Falk moved, duly 2nd by Tabbert, to approve the Agenda as presented in packet. Ayes-Morrow, Tabbert, Falk, Hannam, and Groth. Nays-None.

Communications: None.

Mr. Cakerice announced that the Girls were Conference Champions in Golf. The Boys also had conference today.

Mr. Cakerice thanked the Board for the Retirement Reception and announced that he will be enjoying retirement in St. Ansgar!

Superintendent Crozier announced that Elizabeth Schaub will be transferring to Elementary PS-5 Counselor.

Superintendent Crozier updated the board on the facilities. Concrete is done. When the building gets torn down the concrete will be finished. Bleachers are in and Score Board and Pitch Count board are in. The updates are almost complete.

Superintendent Crozier updated the Board on the After-School program. There was a survey out to parents to help assist in this program.

Superintendent Crozier discussed the ESSER I, II and III Funds and how the school is working on spending the money in the categories the state requires. There was discussion on HVAC systems.

Director Falk wanted to thank Mr. Scott Cakerice for all his service to the district and President Steve Groth presented him with a plaque.

Morrow moved, duly 2nd by Falk, to approve the Consent Action Items which included the following:

- Minutes from the April 12, 2021 regular school board meeting and April 22, 2021 Special Board Meeting.
- April 2021 Financial Statements.
- April bills, including prepays in the amount of \$959,692.86 including Bond Payments.
- Payroll in the amount of \$503,281.85 for April.
- Approve Learning Connection Payments to Sue Loken for \$1,352, Emily Nalan-May for \$787.25, and Theresa Cooper \$822.50.
- Approve the resignation of Joni Demaris as Elementary Principal's Secretary and Kim Brackey as the PS-5 Guidance Counselor.
- Approve Elizabeth Schaub's transfer from MS/HS Guidance Counselor to Elementary PS-5 Counselor and her change in contract. The contract would be in the amount of \$62,892 instead of the original amount of \$64,416.
- Approve awarding two \$250 Kulik Scholarship checks when the winners have been selected.
- Approve the Turning Leaf Contract.
- Approve the MTSS/SALT/Mentors as presented in the packet.

- Approve the Librarian contract with Martha Chancellor for the 2021-2022 School Year in the amount of \$40 per hour.
- Approve the following for summer help: Meika Retterath, Makia Majures, Brennan Mayer, Haley Peterson, and Mikail Meyer.

Ayes-Falk, Tabbert, Hannam, Groth, and Morrow. Nays-None.

Morrow moved, duly 2nd by Hannam, to approve the Cheerleading Fundraiser as presented in the packet. Ayes- Tabbert, Hannam, Groth, Morrow, and Falk. Nays-None.

There were no changes to discuss at this time with COVID-19.

May is School Board Recognition Month. The District would like to thank Steven Groth, William Morrow, Lindsey Falk, Kyle Tabbert, Donna Brumm, Lowana Hannam, and Tara Bork for all they do to contribute to our School District. Superintendent Crozier handed out the Certificates of Recognition.

Tabbert moved, duly 2nd by Falk, to approve the first reading of the review of the board policy 400 Series (part 2) and rescind policies 409.3E3, 409.3E5, 409.3E6, 409.3R1,410.2, 410.4 and 414.2. Ayes- Hannam, Groth, Morrow, Falk, and Tabbert. Nays-None.

Morrow moved, duly 2nd by Hannam, to approve the NIACC class offerings. Ayes-Groth, Morrow, Falk, Tabbert, and Hannam. Nays-None.

Falk moved, duly 2nd by Tabbert, to approve advertising and the letting of bids for disposal of the old white pick-up. Ayes-Morrow, Falk, Tabbert, Hannam, and Groth. Nays-None.

Falk moved, duly 2nd by Tabbert, to approve the first reading of board policy changes 701.2, 701.06, 701.5, 702, 703.1, 704.1, 704.5, 704.7, 706.2, 706.3, 707.2, 707.4, 707.5, 707.5R1, 708, 801.5, 803.1, 904.1, 905.1, 906.1, 906.2, add new policy 903.2, and rescind policy 705.7. Ayes-Falk, Tabbert, Hannam, Groth, and Morrow. Nays-None.

Morrow moved, duly 2nd by Falk to approve the hot lunch prices as presented with no increase for the 2021-2022 school year. Ayes- Tabbert, Hannam, Groth, Morrow, and Falk. Nays-None.

Falk moved, duly 2nd by Morrow, to approve the school fees as presented for the 2021-2022 school year. Ayes- Hannam, Groth, Morrow, Falk, and Tabbert. Nays-None.

Morrow moved, duly 2nd by Hannam, to approve the list of 2021 graduates, as presented, pending successful completion of credits for graduation. Ayes- Groth, Morrow, Falk, Tabbert, and Hannam. Nays-None.

Morrow moved, duly 2nd by Falk, to approve to discontinue the distance learning option for students for the 2021-2022 school year. Ayes- Morrow, Falk, Tabbert, Hannam, and Groth. Nays-None.

Falk moved, duly 2nd by Tabbert, to accept the bid from AE Dairy for milk and Bimbo Bakery for bread. Ayes- Falk, Tabbert, Hannam, Groth, and Morrow. Nays-None.

Morrow moved, duly 2nd by Tabbert, to approve the audit report for 2020 as presented in the packet. Ayes- Tabbert, Hannam, Groth, Morrow, and Falk. Nays-None.

There were no open enrollments to approve.

The meeting adjourned at 6:19 P.M.

Attachments to the board minutes may be viewed at the Board Secretary's Office. There may be a charge for any copies

that are requested.

Steve Groth, President

Emily Johnson-Woods, Board Secretary